My New Logo: Building on Dreams

I’ve been told that an author should have a logo for promotional purposes, and I’ve seen several very effective ones. It’s supposed to be something that represents your whole body of work. I’ve been trying to come up with one for some time. Last night, as I was drifting off to sleep, one came to me, and I liked it. I’ve designed a header for my Facebook author’s page using the logo. Not sure how well the design works. I’d welcome your opinions and suggestions. This is what it looks like at present.

FB_Author_Page_Cover

No matter what you think of the design, I hope you like the logo. I’ll tell you why I chose it.

In several of my blogs I’ve said that I get ideas from dreams for scenes in my novels or for an entire novel. So my novels are literally built from dreams. That is one reason for the logo but not the most important one.

All my life I’ve loved to write, and from an early age I dreamed of becoming an author. It took me a long time to realize that dream, but I have, and while it’s not easy to get published, to build a following, to promote my books, and to persuade people to actually read them, I do love having realized my dream and having published books available for anyone to read.

So the message of my logo applies to me, but I also intend it to be a message to readers and to writers. As the song “Happy Talk” from South Pacific says, “You’ve got to have a dream. If you don’t have a dream, how you gonna have a dream come true?” Everyone has dreams–not the kind that come when you’re sleeping, but the kind that express your hopes, your goals, soemthing you desire. It’s good to have those dreams, but it’s not enough to dream them. We have to build on them. That requires patience and persistence. No matter what your dreams are, they don’t get fulfilled magically.

Some people are fortunate enough to realize their dreams quite early and easily. But for most of us the building can be a long, slow process. It’s easy to get discouraged and give up. When I started writing seriously, that is, for publication, I had several short stories accepted by small press publications, and I won some contests and awards for the short stories. So I felt I was really on my way as a writer. I took early retirement from teaching to write, certain that I’d soon be able to support myself with my writing. Of course, it didn’t work that way. It took me 20 years to get my first novel published. And my writing income has never been enough to live on. Of course I got discouraged. Of course I questioned my ability to write. But I did not give up. The dream was too strong, too compelling. I took writing courses. I attended seminars and conferences. Since I was writing science fiction and fantasy, I went to science fiction conventions. I joined writing groups. I read how-to books on writing. I studied the work of authors I liked to read to see how they did what they did: how they built characters, how they created suspense, how they made the fantastic believable. I learned and am still learning. Every novel I write is a learning experience for me.

I still haven’t fully reached my goal, but I do now have nine books published and a tenth accepted and awaiting publication. I have three completed manuscripts ready to send to an agent or publisher. And I’m working on others. I’m happy, busy, and pleased at the way my dream building is progressing.

What are your dreams? How are you doing at building on them? I invite you to share your thoughts and your dreams.

About E. Rose Sabin

Fantasy and science fiction author.
This entry was posted in Books, General, Promotion, Writing and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to My New Logo: Building on Dreams

  1. Joyce Levesque says:

    Elenora, I love your logo concept.

    Some thoughts on arrangement: Perhaps start the tag line more to the left, in a different font, and not all caps. Also, try a slightly smaller rose with your name below and to the left, rather than above it.

    Kind of like the attached, but I’m not a master of Paint so the background is screwed up and the font is unchanged, just resized and rearranged.

    Of course, that’s just my composition preference. I love your logo idea and it works fine as-is.

    I admire your, altogether. Your writing is terrific and ;your marketing determination and skills are admirable.

    Back to my own dream…

    love, Joyce

    On Fri, Aug 2, 2013 at 10:56 AM, E. Rose Sab

  2. Joyce, I changed the cover art according to your recommendations. I do think it looks better. Take a look and see what you think.

Leave a Reply

