A NEW YEAR’S CHALLENGE

I’ve written often about getting ideas from dreams. That used to happen far more frequently than it does now. In fact, I have recorded many dreams that offer good material for a novel or a short story but that I’ve never used. Maybe that’s why I don’t get those dreams as much anymore. I have too great a backlog of ideas from the ones I’ve had to take advantage of a new idea.

This morning, shortly before waking, I had what I call a “story dream.” I recorded it in my dream file as I always do such dreams. But I decided to do something new with it. I’m going to share it with my readers. It is a good idea, too good simply to sit in a file and never get used. But I know I won’t have time to turn it into a novel. I’m still working on the novel that has developed from the last story dream I had. And I have many other novels already in the pipeline, either in progress or still in idea form. So I’m going to share my dream with you.

Ideas can’t be copyrighted. Anyone can take this “story dream” of mine as a basis for a novel or a short story and run with it. I would be very interested to see what you come up with if you decide to do something with it. Even if several people have a go at it, no two writers would handle it in the same way. Each one would come up with something unique to him or her. So go ahead, be my guest. Here’s the dream, just as I recorded it in my dream file:

The sole owner of a large business firm, a very wealthy man, has just died. The business executives expect to inherit his entire estate, as he had no other known heirs and left a will leaving everything to the business. However, three people appear, two men and a woman, claiming to be the deceased man’s grown children and his sole heirs. The older son is the spokesman for the three. They have a manila file folder containing documents proving their claim: their birth certificates, their parents’ marriage license, and, most importantly, a will, more recent than the one the business executives have, that names them as his heirs, inheriting everything, including the business. The business executives are sure the documents must be forged, but the son says, “Look at us. Can you doubt that we are his sons and daughter?” And, indeed, their resemblance to the deceased businessman is so strong that the business execs are shaken. Why did no one, not even his closest associates, know of these children? Why has their existence been a secret to everyone?

Okay, that’s the dream. The questions I ended with were asked in the dream but not answered. I awoke pondering them. I’m intrigued enough to want to do something with the idea, but I just do not have the time. So I’m putting it out here for anyone who wants it. Have fun!

About E. Rose Sabin

Fantasy and science fiction author.
This entry was posted in Creativity, Dreams, Writing and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

